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Who is eligible for a
First-Time Home Buyer Savings Account?

A qualified Kansas First-Time Home Buyer is a
person who has never owned or purchased under
contract for deed, either individually or jointly, a
single-family, owner-occupied primary residence
including, but not limited to, a condominium unit or a
manufactured or mobile home that was assessed and

taxed as real property; or as a result of the individual’s

dissolution of marriage, has not been listed on a
property title for at least three consecutive years.

How do I open and register an account?

Potential account owners can establish a First-Time
Home Buyer Savings Account at any qualified
financial institution. Financial institution means any
state bank, state trust company, savings and loan
association, federally chartered credit union doing
business in this state, credit union chartered by the
state of Kansas, national bank, broker-dealer, mutual
fund, insurance company or other similar financial
entity qualified to do business in this state.

Financial institutions are not required to classify
money saved in these accounts as funds intended for
the purchase of a first-time home. After establishing
an account with a qualifying financial institution,

an account owner designates the account as a First-
Time Home Buyer Savings Account by reporting the
account and its funds to the Kansas Department of
Revenue on Schedule FHBS when filing your Kansas
Income Tax Return.

A certificate of deposit can be used as a First-Time
Home Buyer Savings Account, per Attorney General’s
Opinion 2023-7.

What are the tax advantages to opening a
First-Time Home Buyer Savings Account?

Contributions made by Kansas state income taxpayers
to a First-Time Home Buyer Account during the tax
year may qualify for a state income tax deduction for
the account holder. Up to $3,000 can be deducted for
individual filers, and up to $6,000 can be deducted for
joint filers.

Please consult with your tax advisor or contact the
Kansas Department of Revenue for guidance on
deducting contributions made into First-Time Home
Buyer Savings Account.

What are the limits on the account?

The maximum contribution to an account in any tax
year is $3,000 for an individual and $6,000 for a
married couple filing a joint return. The maximum
amount of all contributions into an account in all tax
years is $24,000 for an individual and $48,000 for a
married couple filing a joint return.

If an annual or aggregate contribution limit is
exceeded, or if the balance of the account exceeds
$50,000, then thereafter all interest or other income
earned on the investment of moneys in the account
shall be subject to Kansas income tax.

To take advantage of the tax benefits associated with
a First-Time Home Buyers Account, an account must
be established and funded for at least one year before
a qualified withdrawal is permitted. If the funds are
used before this one-year stipulation, the funds are
subject to taxation.

If funds are withdrawn from a First-Time Home Buyer
Account for non-eligible expenses, they are subject

to taxation and may be penalized. Funds may remain
in an account for an unlimited duration without the
interest or income being subject to recapture or penalty,
subject only to the $50,000 threshold.

online banking systems. You may wish to nickname your account as “My First-Time Home Buyer

QUICK TIP: Many financial intuitions allow you to give accounts a “nickname” through their < ~3.
Savings Account” to remind yourself to keep this account separate from your other funds. Q
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Important Definitions

Account holder: An individual who establishes,
either individually or jointly with another individual
with whom they file joint tax returns, an account
with a financial institution for which the account
holder claims a First-Time Home Buyer Savings
Account status on his or her income tax return.
Account holders that are qualified First-Time Home
Buyers can establish themselves as the beneficiary.
An individual account holder can have unlimited
accounts, but each account must have separate
designated beneficiaries.

Designated beneficiary: The individual designated
by an account holder as the individual whose eligible
expenses are expected to be paid from the account for
the purchase or construction of a primary residence
in this state. An individual may be the beneficiary of
more than one account if they are held by separate
account holders.

An account holder may change the designated
beneficiary at any time, but no account shall have
more than one designated beneficiary at any time.
No account holder shall be authorized to designate

the same designated beneficiary on multiple accounts
held by such account owner.

Eligible expense: Funds in a First-Time Home Buyer
Savings Account can be used for down payments

and closing costs that may be included as part of a
real estate settlement agreement, including, but not
limited to, appraisal fees, mortgage origination fees
and inspection fees or any down payment, costs and
fees that may be included as part of financing the
construction of a primary residence. The residence
must be located within the State of Kansas, unless the
designated beneficiary is an active-duty member of
the military who was stationed in Kansas for any time
after the creation of the account.

Funds may also be transferred to another newly
created account or used to pay service fees assessed
by the financial institution.

Further Information

» Kansas Department of Revenue Notice 21-06: First-Time Home Buyer Savings Account Act
https://www.ksrevenue.gov/taxnotices/notice2 1-06.pdf#tsearch=first%20time%20home %2 0buyer

Kansas Department of Revenue Schedule FHBS
https://ksrevenue.gov/pdf/schFFHBS.pdf

First-Time Home Buyer Savings Account Act (K.S.A. 58-4901 et seq.)

http://kslegislature.org/li/b2023 24/statute/058 _000_0000 chapter/058 049 0000 _article/058 049 0001 _

section/058 049 0001 k/

Attorney General’s Opinion 2023-7

https://ag.ks.gov/docs/default-source/ag-opinions/2023/2023-007.pdf
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